Instant Mold

Recently I have been persuaded to play Warhammer Fantasy at my LGS and have picked up the Vampire Counts. In days gone by I used to play Bretonnians and the idea of mixing the two for a themed army seemed like a good one, that was until I realised how hard it was going to be to source the Bretonnian bits I would need for the alterations.

Then I remembered reading an article on Miniature Musings of a Bear about Blu Stuff molding and decided to try something similar.

What I ended up with was InstantMold

This is a clear, plastic type material that you pace in boiling water for a few minutes and then press the item you wish to mold into it or, as  I did, press the material over the item you wish to mold. I had much better results with this method.

It only takes a few minutes to harden and then its ready for use.

Here is a comparison shot of an original and a molded copy. There is room for improvement but this one was my first attempt so cut me some slack.

Finally, here is a dodgy photo of a skeleton made with a shield that went slightly wrong and a press molded Bretonnian helmet.

Now to make another 70 shields and helmets and get painting.

Posted on February 24, 2012, in Modelling, Warhammer. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Have you tried something with more detail than the shield?

    Interested in the level of detail it can hold.

  2. Reblogged this on The Shell Case and commented:
    @johnnyhawkwind has been a busy bee making shields, read why…

  3. Reblogged this on Miniature Musings of a Bear and commented:
    Never tried it myself but looks like it could have uses along side the blu stuff

  4. What would you like me to try it on and I will give it a go at the weekend.

  5. That works really well. Impressive. Will definately consider getting some now I’ve seen the results.

Leave a Reply

