Basing the Coryphée

With a 30 soulstone game of Malifaux on the horizon I decided to dig out the Showgirls starter set as a change from Ramos but realised that I haven’t built my Coryphée yet.

These stunning miniatures come as a pair in a blister and their rules allow them to merge into a duet causing both models to be on a 50mm base rather than each on a 40mm one.

Two options presented themselves to me:

  1. Buy a second blister
  2. Work out a clever basing method to save funds.

I don’t have cash to throw around so option 2 seemed the obvious choice.

To that end my first job was to raid the local coffee house – pick your brand of choice – and grab a handful of their delightful wooden stirrers. Once home I laid out enough of them to allow a lipped 40mm base to fit on the top.

Stirrers
40mm base

 Now, it is worth noting that a 40mm base fits into a 50mm base and a 30mm fits into the 40mm one, for a 30mm base I use a pound coin as a template but substitute with whatever fits.

I am now left with this

Now just cut them out and file/sand to fit

Lastly, I drilled a small hole into each 40mm base and two in the 50mm on before attaching a 0.50mm pin to the underside of each Coryphée so that I could switch between the bases in order for the Dance Together action to be performed.

Now I just need to try and get around to painting something.

Posted on January 23, 2012, in Malifaux, Modelling. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Reblogged this on Miniature Musings of a Bear and commented:
    So Mr Hawkwind has gone and saved himself a couple of bob and made sure he only needs one set of Coryphee blisters to generate both types…
    Very simple and effective although the poistion of the 2 may need to be less suggestive 😉

Leave a Reply

