Club Night @4Tkgaming 10/01/12

Last night saw my second game of Warhammer Fantasy Battle in around a decade and featured a crushing blow to my fledgling Lizardmen force. I played a 1000pt game consisting of:

  • Saurus Scar Veteran, Aura of Quetzl
  • Skink Priest L2
  • 15 Saurus Warriors
  • 8 Cold One Cavalry
  • 12 Skink Skirmishers
  • Razordon

The long and the short is, I lost fairly badly including my cavalry not getting to do anything after a nasty charge from some Ogre cavalry. It started to turn my way a little with David, my opponent, getting some crappy rolls but in the end it was a steep learning curve.

The outcome is that the list had nothing that could really deal with multi-wound Ogres once the cavalry had gone. Plans for a Kroxigor or some Temple Guard are in the pipeline.

Out the back room there was a group playing the Wings of War boardgame.

Wings of War

What I didn’t need to happen when I am struggling to find the funds for the Journeyman league is to be introduced to a really fun game that uses models I wouldn’t even need to paint. If you ever get a chance to give it a go then do, the basic rules are incredibly easy to pick up and it was an immense amount of fun.

Posted on January 11, 2012, in 4tk Gaming, Warhammer. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. On the upside, the Wings of War stuff is largely out of stock at most of the places I tried (not that i’ve been spending time at work looking or anything, honest….)

  2. I very quickly got bored with Wings of War and sold about 20 aircraft and the 3 rules sets I had last year. I would not count on it being a game which you are desperate to play, I found I played it about 4 times in 4 years and the games played were very light-weight and made me desperate to get back to something like Blue Max from 1983 – a classic board game.

Leave a Reply

